Editor and Contributors

Editor

Navroz K. Dubash is professor at the Centre for Policy Research, New Delhi, India. He has been engaged in the climate debate as a researcher, policy advisor, and activist for over 25 years. In 1990, he was instrumental in establishing the global Climate Action Network, participated in the climate negotiations in Rio de Janeiro in 1992, and has since written widely about climate politics, policy, and governance at international, national, and local scales.

He has been involved in informing Indian government policymaking on climate change over the last decade, and is also active in policy committees on energy, air, and water policy. He serves on the editorial boards of several journals, including *Climate Policy* (as associate editor), *Global Environmental Politics*, and *Energy Research in Social Science*, and is currently coordinating lead author for a chapter on national policies for the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change. In 2015, he was conferred the 12th TN Khoshoo Memorial Award in recognition of the impact of his work on Indian climate change policy and the international discourse on global climate governance.

Dubash holds an MA and PhD in energy and resources from the University of California, Berkeley, California, USA, and an AB in public and international affairs from Princeton University, New Jersey, USA.

Contributors

Krishna AchutaRao is associate professor at the Centre for Atmospheric Sciences, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, New Delhi, India. **Nagraj Adve** is a member of India Climate Justice Collective, New Delhi, India and the author of *Global Warming in the Indian Context: An Introductory Overview,* 5th edition (Ecologise Hyderabad 2019).

Anil Agarwal (1947–2001) was the founder of the Centre for Science and Environment, New Delhi, India.

Rohan Arthur is senior scientist and founding trustee at the Nature Conservation Foundation, Bengaluru, India.

Ankit Bhardwaj is a PhD student in sociology at New York University, USA, and was previously a senior research associate at the Centre for Policy Research, New Delhi, India.

Chandrashekhar Dasgupta was a member of the Prime Minister's Council on Climate Change and is former lead negotiator on climate change, Government of India.

Ashwin Gambhir is a fellow at Prayas (Energy Group), Pune, India.

Arunabha Ghosh is the founder and chief executive officer of the Council on Energy, Environment and Water, New Delhi, India.

Shibani Ghosh is a fellow at the Centre for Policy Research, New Delhi, India, and an Advocate-on-Record at the Supreme Court of India.

Elizabeth Gogoi is senior consultant at the Climate Change Portfolio, Oxford Policy Management, New Delhi, India.

T. Jayaraman is professor at the School of Habitat Studies, Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai, India.

Anu Jogesh is the policy and governance lead—India at the Acclimatise Group Ltd, New Delhi, India.

Tejal Kanitkar is associate professor and chairperson at the Centre for Climate Change and Sustainability Studies, School of Habitat Studies, Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai, India.

Radhika Khosla is research director of the Oxford India Centre for Sustainable Development, University of Oxford, UK, and visiting fellow at the Centre for Policy Research, New Delhi, India.

Jagdish Krishnaswamy is senior fellow at the Ashoka Trust for Research in Ecology and the Environment, Bengaluru, India, and also a coordinating lead author of the Special IPCC Report on climate change, desertification, degradation, sustainable land management, food security, and greenhouse gas fluxes in terrestrial ecosystems.

K.S. Kavi Kumar is professor at the Madras School of Economics, Chennai, India.

Benny Kuruvilla is a researcher with the Transnational Institute, Bengaluru, India, where he works on trade policy, corporate power and new politics.

Ashok Lavasa is member, Election Commission of India. He has also been the union finance secretary, Union Environment, Forests and Climate Change secretary, and negotiator for the Government of India during the Paris climate negotiations.

Sharachchandra Lele is distinguished fellow in Environmental Policy and Governance, Centre for Environment and Development, Ashoka Trust for Research in Ecology and the Environment, Bengaluru, India.

Koyel Kumar Mandal is consultant at the Infrastructure for Climate Resilient Growth, IPE Global Limited, New Delhi, India.

Ajay Mathur is director general of the The Energy and Resources Institute, New Delhi, India and former director general of the Bureau of Energy Efficiency in the Government of India. He is also a member of the Prime Minister's Advisory Council on Climate Change, Indian spokesperson during the Paris climate negotiations.

Sunita Narain is director general of the Centre for Science and Environment, New Delhi, India, and Editor of *DowntoEarth* magazine.

Friederike Otto is acting director at the Environmental Change Institute (ECI), University of Oxford, UK, and an associate professor at the ECI Global Climate Science Programme, University of Oxford, UK.

D. Raghunandan is director at the Centre for Technology and Development, New Delhi, India, and a member of the Delhi Science Forum, New Delhi, India.

Lavanya Rajamani is research professor at the Centre for Policy Research, New Delhi, India.

Mukund Rajan is chairman of the Tata and Quantum Joint ESG Venture, Mumbai, India. He was also the former chief ethics officer of the Tata Group, and former chairman, Tata Global Sustainability Council.

Ashim Roy is general secretary of the New Trade Union Initiative, New Delhi, India.

Ambuj Sagar is the Vipula and Mahesh Chaturvedi Professor of Policy Studies and the founding head of the School of Public Policy, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, New Delhi, India.

Shyam Saran was formerly the prime minister's special envoy on Climate Change and is currently senior fellow at the Centre for Policy Research, New Delhi, India.

Sandeep Sengupta is the global coordinator of Climate Change Portfolio, International Union for Conservation of Nature, and visiting faculty at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Geneva, Switzerland.

Ashok Sreenivas is a senior fellow at the Prayas (Energy Group), Pune, India.

J. Srinivasan is a distinguished scientist at the Divecha Centre for Climate Change, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru, India.

Veena Srinivasan is a fellow at the Centre for Environment and Development, Ashoka Trust for Research in Ecology and the Environment, Bengaluru, India.

Pradip Swarnakar is associate professor at the Department of Humanities and Social Sciences, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, India, and Fulbright-Nehru scholar, University of San Francisco, California, USA.

Shankar Venkateswaran is former chief of the Tata Sustainability Group, Mumbai, India.

Brinda Viswanathan is professor at the Madras School of Economics, Chennai, India.